Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Anyone know location of an Olive mill (Read 4986 times)
Kevin
Ex Member

Anyone know location of an Olive mill
Jun 1st, 2006 at 11:01pm
Print Post  
Hi Forum,

what a great forum, this is my first posting so here goes.

We have a small olive "farm" with 100+ trees very near Campredo Tortosa and am looking for an olive pressing plant or mill (organic if possible) where I can take my harvest this year. I have never done this before coming from London I look forward to the idea of pressing my own oil etc. I have had the trees pruned but apart from this I have no real knowledge of this world of olives. Any info or advice  would be greatly welcome.

Many Thanks

Kevin

IP Logged

Nigel
YaBB Administrator

Living here and loving
it!

Re: Anyone know location of an Olive mill
Reply #1 - Jun 2nd, 2006 at 8:57am
Print Post  
Hi Kevin,

glad you're enjoying the forum!  Well, living near Campredo you are very near to one of the 'better' olive mills.  There is one near you called 'Moli d'Oli'.  They are very friendly and helpful and speak a little bit of English (but not much!).

If you come off the new dual carriageway at the Campredo roundabout (the one on the hill that goes over the top of the dual carriage way just after the quarry) then you should find the signpost to it.

For harvesting there are (as far as I'm aware) 3 methods;
1. Make sure the ground is clean underneath and then use a 'Spiky roller' to pick them up.
2. Put down nets and hit the branches with a big stick to shake them off
3. Use a machine to shake them off either into nets or there is a machine that has a collector - it looks like an inverted umberella and wraps round the tree before it's shaken.

Make sure you keep any picked from the ground separate from any shaken from the tree as they pay less for the ones picked from the ground.

If you take a trip to Moli d'Oli then you should be able to pick up some sacks to put the olives in.