Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
 10 Help compost (Read 8128 times)
Bulldog

Forum newbie

Help compost
Jan 14th, 2011 at 6:57pm
Print Post  
Hi, I am a newbie to the forum but we have been here several years, mad keen on gardening. Now have the time, getting sunshine, bought the potting compost and now have the mushrooms so does anybody know where I can buy good potting compost minus the mushrooms.      

IP Logged

Ritaratbag
God Member

Forum newbie

Re: Help compost
Reply #1 - Jan 14th, 2011 at 8:08pm
Print Post  
Hi,
Tref compost is excellent.
I buy mine from Solebre in Tortosa.
Tried many different types when we first moved here, but found all were rubbish.

IP Logged

Bulldog

Forum newbie

Reply #2 - Jan 15th, 2011 at 6:32pm
Print Post  
Hi, Thanks for info will try it. Do you by any chance know if I can use fertilizer called Oliva 16-5-19 on my garden, I bought several sacks for the olives trees but at the moment thats still a pipe dream as weeds are still knee deep

IP Logged

Bigyin
God Member

Onwards and Upwards !!

Reply #3 - Jan 16th, 2011 at 12:08am
Print Post  
Don't know the actual barand (Oliva) and may be teaching you to suck eggs here but the numbers indicate, in order, the percentage of nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), potassium or potash (K), and sulfur (S) - the letters in parentheses are the chemical symbols for the elements.
It may have been recommended for your olives but should be fine for general fertilising.  Will probably do more good than harm depending on the plants you're planning to use it on.  Might pay to do  bit of research on Google.
I hope this doesn't sound rude but if you've been here several years and are keen on gardening, how come you're still struggling with weeds and sourcing supplies ?

Where there's life there's hope !!
IP Logged

bruixot
Ex Member

Reply #4 - Jan 17th, 2011 at 10:32am
Print Post  
Hey Bigyin